Stop Me If You’ve Heard This One

I woke up yesterday with my left eye crusted shut.

ARE YOU KIDDING ME????

I quite literally visited the doctor for the exact same symptoms last month, almost to the day. This time, I was managing to beat the actual sinus infection with the help of two or three sinus washes a day. It’s oddly satisfying to see all of the gunk that washes out. (Oh I’m sorry, were you eating?) It’s gross, I know, but it helps so much. My doctor confirmed that there wasn’t an infection present, just a whole lotta swelling and inflammation.

And the pink eye, you know. Looking sexy as hell over here. The pink eye is caused by the swelling in my sinuses, of course. My eye can’t drain, creating a perfect environment for bacteria or viruses to hang out in. It’s lovely.

Anyway, this is all ultimately due to allergies. Ugh. I’ve been instructed to head back to the allergist to up my doses of zyrtex and flonase and all that. I am feeling better, thanks to a pack of steroids (for the inflammation) and eye drops (for the pink eye).

2018 has really not gotten off to the healthiest start for me.

The good news is that I’ve found some really, really delicious kimchi. I made a batch after I decided to forego the allergy shots in favor of trying fermented veggies again. For some reason though, my kimchi didn’t turn out. You always look for the bubbles, when making fermented veggies. Bubbles up the side of the container is the sign of fermentation. You want lots and lots of bubbles! But there were no bubbles in mine. I was going to make a new batch, but in the meantime I picked up a jar from the local H Mart. That was a mistake, in hindsight, because it was absolutely delicious. The flavors were so much more complex than mine. So tasty!

So that’s where I am now. A little inflamed. A little infectious looking. A little spicy.