Most Eggscelent

The dumpling has been slowly taking to solid foods. I finally started sending oatmeal or yogurt with him each day, so he’s finally started eating solids at least once a day. I try to have him try new things or eat other foods whenever I can find time, which usually means me rifling through the fridge, looking for something he can eat. I was really proud of him this past weekend because he successfully had blueberries! He’d eaten them before, but in his mesh feeder, which means he’s just getting the juice. This time, I cut them up and fed them to him along with some yogurt. Two pieces disappeared into his mouth – yay!!!

About an hour later, however, we were playing on the floor and I spotted something dark on the roof of his mouth. Took him to the bathroom to discover that he had a squished blueberry stuck to the roof of his mouth! Poor baby! And I had been wondering why he was drooling so much.

In more foodie news, the dumpling also finally managed to swallow some egg yesterday morning. Luffy and I have eggs for breakfast every morning and we usually give the dumpling a small bite. Up until yesterday, most of that bite has come right back out, but yesterday he managed to swallow it! Yay dumpling! We sent him off to daycare and headed out to work.

About 11:45, I get a call from daycare (I swear my stomach falls out each time I look at the caller ID and see that it’s daycare calling). They’d given him his yogurt for the morning, but he was developing a rash, they said. It was spreading quickly and they wanted us to come get him. Luffy picked him up and I met them at the pediatrician’s office where she confirmed a likely egg allergy.

Our pediatrician ordered an allergy panel for the dumpling, but that didn’t go so well. The lab couldn’t find a vein and they need to collect more blood than a heel prick provides. Unfortunately, we’ll be headed back to the lab (hopefully one a little more adept at pediatric collections) soon to confirm. Wish us luck on this – I really hated to see my poor dumpling distraught over the prick, especially when it wasn’t fruitful.

While I’m bummed that he could be allergic to eggs (oh what a life! to be allergic to eggs), this is apparently an allergy that has a high likelihood of being outgrown. There are a few factors here (that he had a reaction early, that it appears to just be a reaction to egg, that the reaction was fairly minor, that he is a boy) that make the odds of him outgrowing it even greater than average. So I suppose we’ll see!


In other milestone news, the dumpling has gotten really vocal all of a sudden. He’s always had his chatty moments at home, when it’s just us. Yesterday though, when we were at the pediatrician’s office and then the lab, he was just a talking away! Screechy, pterodactyl noises too! He’s also beginning to learn “up” and will throw his hands up at you if you say it to him. I always enjoy watching him, seeing what new habits he’s picked up and what he’s learned.

Leave a Reply

