Like a boss

My new work arrangement – working from home part of the week – has been working out beautifully. The days I work from home are so much less stressful. I get more time with my dumpling, both in the mornings and the evenings. I’m much closer to home (obviously) but with that comes the added convenience of being close to things like the grocery store and our auto mechanic. I can run a quick grocery errand at lunch or do a load of laundry between answering emails. The dumpling’s daycare is two minutes away, as opposed to between 45-60 minutes away from my office. All in all, it’s been fantastic and I’m so grateful my company is even willing to do this.

The only downside has been my setup. When I first approached my boss about equipment, he hedged, saying that he wanted to wait a while to see how this would all work out. That was almost six weeks ago. Since I’ve been back to work, I’ve been working off my laptop and a portable monitor. If you’re familiar with a typical office setup, you can see how limiting it’s been. I’ve been toying with the idea of just purchasing my own, but kept procrastinating. But, last Friday I discovered that my laptop’s Ctrl key was no longer working. This, ladies and gents, is what sent me over the edge. (In my defense, I use short cuts in Excel constantly and kept erasing my work as I tried to copy and paste or search.)

So, over the weekend, I took the plunge and purchased two monitors, a new keyboard and mouse, and a dock for my laptop. It came in Tuesday and I have been in work heaven (if there’s such a thing) since then.

It’s amazing what good tools can do!

