Four month check-up

The dumpling will be exactly four months old this Saturday, but he had his four month check-up this past Tuesday. He got another round of vaccines, which he wasn’t happy about, but other than that he did wonderfully.

Our pediatrician actually had him weighed and measured twice, just to be sure they had accurate measurements, because he’s measuring quite small. He weighs 12 lbs, 5 oz which puts him in the 3rd percentile for weight. That’s dropped from the 10th percentile at his two month appointment. He’s 24.2 inches long, which puts him in the 15th percentile for height. She was quite concerned about the weight percentile when she walked into the room (after reviewing his stats outside), but when she saw him, her worry eased a bit.

“He certainly doesn’t look skinny!” she said as we headed to the scale again. She was sure the weight had been off the first time around, but the scale read 12 lbs, 5oz again. Ultimately, she decided he’s perhaps just a late bloomer – or he might take after me instead of his dad. (I’m 5’1″, Luffy is 6’5″ – if I haven’t mentioned this anywhere.)

I think he’s just skinny, that’s all. Asian babies are smaller. Luffy is long and skinny; I’m short and skinny. Little dumpling has tiny thigh rolls and wrist rolls and elbow dimples (so cute!), but I certainly wouldn’t call him chunky. He’s happy though and he eats well, so whatever.

When I spoke to my mom about it, she told me that I was the exact same way as a baby. She said I never really chubbed up until I could feed myself and even then I was never a roly-poly baby. She told me that my doctors hounded her, wanting to run test after test to figure out what was wrong with me. At 7 months, I only weighed 11 pounds – completely off their percentile charts and not in a good way. After several rounds of testing, with no results to show, my granddad stepped in and asked her – is the baby happy? is she growing? is she playing? ok good, then leave my granddaughter alone. Of course, nothing ended up being “wrong” with me, I was just small and hated the texture of baby food.

My point is that I’m hoping he’s fine. It is worrisome to see him slip down the growth curves (even his own), but I’m staying optimistic that he’s just taking his time. He’ll get there.

In other news, our pediatrician gave us the go-ahead to start solid foods when we’re ready. New research shows that starting solids earlier than 6 months may lessen the likelihood of food allergies, so she wants us to start before then. I agree, but don’t think he’s quite ready yet. I’m excited to try some purees with him and introduce him to something other than breastmilk. If he’s anything like his parents, he’s gonna love eating.

