August got me like….

Whew…. It’s hot in DFW. Hot and humid, which is a terrible combination. You can laugh all you want, but I’m super excited for this weekend’s cool front. The high on Sunday is only 93 and I don’t know what to do with myself!!


As I’m sure you probably know, the Olympics are on right now. I’m not super into the Olympics (you know those people – the ones who have not performed an athletic feat in the past 5+ years and suddenly they accost you every morning with a detailed recap of last night’s swim record or gymnastic pass or volleyball … er volley), but I do really enjoy watching. I basically spent all weekend with the Olympics on, watching the biking road race and rugby and beach volleyball, plus prelims for the swimmers and gymnasts. Good fun. I highly relate to all those memes out there about watching the Olympics:

Me: Wow! That gymnast is amazing!

Commentator: Oooh, devastating mistake there. He’s going to regret that.

Me: …… [scrutinizes replay] …. [still haven’t got a clue]


Other than the Olympics, not much else is going on right now. Luffy and I put the changing table together, which means that I can officially start washing clothes for Little Dumpling (the changing table doubles as a dresser). We got a bunch of hand-me-downs, so those are the clothes I’ll be washing. My plan, for the other detail-oriented folks out there, is to not wash much of the new stuff ahead of time. That way, when Little Dumpling comes out as an itty bitty six pounder or a line backer at 10 pounds, I can adjust accordingly. Once I get the hand-me-downs washed, I can start organizing them into sizes, which I’ve been itching to do.

Looking into the baby’s room, it’s starting to come together a bit. We’re still lacking a mattress for the crib, but we’re shopping around. I need to organize all of the random crap that came with the hand-me-down clothes. (My friend was nice enough to give us a bunch of stuff, but they were also moving at the time so we have a few bags that suspiciously look like random piles of baby paraphernalia.) As far as furniture, I think we’re about done. I’m considering buying some sort of rocking chair, but I might hold off until the baby’s here and I can see where I prefer nursing. I’m also eyeing some sort of organizing cart to go alongside the changing table, but haven’t made up my mind yet. I bought some artwork for the walls, but haven’t bought the frames yet. And perhaps a lamp for the corner would be nice??? Maybe? Eh, we’ll see. Procrastination!!


One last piece of news (that pretty much proves how boring August has been so far), Luffy and I went to a chocolate shop last night and put together a custom, two pound box of chocolates. They are incredibly delicious and really, the only thing keeping me from polishing off the entire box in one sitting is Luffy would TOTES JUDGE ME.

