Bump

Another milestone for the baby books: I am wearing maternity pants for the first time.

I waited until the second trimester to purchase maternity pants (actually, this was my first purchase of maternity clothes period). I stubbornly held out on switching over to maternity pants by digging through my closet to find some larger pants or pants that sit lower on my hips (most of my work slacks hit right below the belly button, a truly inconvenient fit for the growing baby belly). Plus, I’ve actually gotten to the point where I have firmly put pants away, realizing that I have outgrown them. So, I bit the bullet and got two pairs of work slacks with the full belly band that can be folded down. They’re not bad looking – not super stylish but I’m not all that stylish anyway so meh – and holy cats are they comfortable. It’s amazing to think that I’m starting to show.

Looking back on it, I think I started showing a bit around week 12 – to Luffy and friends who knew me (and my body) well. I remember going to a friend’s birthday party where Luffy’s best friend told him that I was starting to show. That might have been a bit more belly than baby, but I’ll take it. Now, my lower abs, between my hip bones, are starting to get that unmistakable distention of pregnancy and the bump, especially in the evenings, is harder to miss. My class participants started commenting (and some not so nicely – i.e. please do not call my little bump a “pooch”) last weekend at 14w5d along, but they have the advantage of regularly seeing me in very form-fitted clothing. The bump is still not very visible at work or in street clothes, but I have a feeling that it won’t be much longer until it is. Every few days now I get growing pains, as I call them, that make me feel like little dumpling is making some elbow room in there. I imagine her with a little hammer and hardhat, moving the walls of my uterus like a home under construction.

Now that I’m in the second trimester, I’m finally to the point where I have some milestones to truly look forward to. There’s the bump, of course, which I’ll probably curse later on for being in the way, but for now is the first visible sign of the growing little one inside me. Then there’s the flutters or quickening, whatever you want to call it. I’m in the prime weeks now to feel those first movements. Each night I lie in bed and lay very quietly, hoping to feel the baby waking up. I haven’t felt him yet, but soon!

Then there’s the big anatomy scan, where we’ll get to find out if we’re having a boy or a girl. Mine’s tentatively scheduled for week 19 right now, four weeks away. Of course, you know my stance on finding out, so there’s no surprise that I’m eagerly awaiting the scan. It just so happens that we’ll find out the same week my family’s gathering for a cousin’s wedding, so I’ll be able to tell the entire family at once! That is, if my mom decides she wants to know (something tells me that when I tell her I know, she’ll want to know too).

We have so much to look forward to in the coming weeks, but now I need to get back to work reveling in the comfort that is maternity pants.

