Allergy Season

Welcome to Texas! Here, have some pollen.

Tree pollen is out of control right now and, unfortunately, I’m highly allergic to the stuff. I’ve been on Zyrtec since mid-February (yay for an unseasonably warm winter!), but right now it’s just not enough. My sinuses are stuffed; my throat is sore from the drainage. I went to bed with a headache and woke up with the same headache this morning.

Can someone just remove my head right now? I think it would be a relief.

Of course, all of this is complicated by the fact that I’m pregnant. I can’t just take a decongestant (although I typically don’t rely on them anyway). More of an issue is that I’m already fatigued, so when I can’t sleep through the night because of allergies, the next day’s fatigue levels are higher. And it just builds.

Waaaahh!

But enough about me, how about you? How’s your April going? Did you make it through April Fool’s Day?

April Fool’s Day is not my cup of tea. For someone who is relatively smart and an excellent researcher (for instance, always checking the source to spot bias, etc), I am also very gullible. I usually don’t fall for internet pranks (again, source checking), but if you tell me something in person, I will believe you. No questions asked. So it’s a rough holiday for me. This year was fairly mild, but that was mostly because I was in an all day meeting. (Didn’t stop on of our analysts from trying to convince us the auditors had brought a material and pervasive problem to his attention.)

Anyway, that’s about all I have time for – between work and allergies, I’m all tapped out!

