A comment on that CDC article

Have you seen it? The one from yesterday? Advising that all women who are not on birth control abstain from drinking alcohol. Women who are trying to get pregnant or who are pregnant should also refrain from drinking alcohol.

Bold words. I get the message: no birth control should equal no alcohol. And I get why the message needs to be blunt. There are teens and college kids out there drinking and having unprotected sex. They should know the risks and, more importantly, they should take steps to have safer sex. That’s truly the answer to that problem.

But I digress. The main statement was that if there’s even the slightest chance (and don’t even get me started on the fact that every contraception has a failure percentage) that you could get pregnant, you should absolutely not be drinking. The moment you stop taking/practicing birth control is the moment you should discontinue drinking. Full stop.

And this wounds me a bit. I love wine and champagne. A nice glass of red helps me unwind and relax after a long, stressful day. But, I know that we are ultimately trying to get pregnant and I monitor my (few) signs of fertility. When I ovulated, back in December, I didn’t have anything to drink after ovulation (even though it actually does take five to seven days for the fertilized egg to implant – up to that point it’s completely separate from your body/blood stream). But the day my period returned? You bet I poured a glass for myself. I’ve been off birth control for 16 months. They already felt long and arduous, I can’t even imagine what they would have been like if I couldn’t have indulged in one of my favorite vices.

Rather than the all or nothing approach the CDC takes, they should promote awareness and knowledge. True, if you’re not going to pay attention and you don’t care about your cycle, you have no business having unprotected sex (for so many more reasons than just fetal alcohol syndrome). But if I’m aware of my cycle and my body, then I should be able to reasonably indulge.

