Uncharted Territory

[Also known as I am really terrible with the puns, #sorrynotsorry… ]

So! Day 74 and counting! After some chatting through online forums, I was referred to the book Taking Charge of Your Fertility by Toni Weschler and, after picking it up at my local library, was introduced to the world of cycle charting. Yesterday, I purchased a basal body thermometer and officially started my first chart this morning. Obviously, charting probably won’t help much on this cycle (hello 74 days!), but I’m hoping that it will help in the future. Especially since it can (hopefully!) answer the question of if I’m even ovulating or not.

Anyway, I’ll let you know how it goes. I find the book fascinating (I’m about halfway through) and, although I’m reading it with a grain of salt, I do relate to a lot of what Ms. Weschler is describing. Interestingly enough, I looked into charting, albeit briefly, back when I first went off birth control. I dismissed it though as being too hippy and flower-child-esque – plus who wants to take their temperature every morning! However, the more I read, the more I can relate to it as just another tool in trying to understand my cycles and what’s happening with my body. And I’m getting up every morning to use an ovulation test, might as well stick a thermometer in my mouth first.

One thing I’ve learned from the book is how delicate the menstruation cycle is for some women (like myself, I think). I know I for one always took it for granted, especially on the pill. 28 days. Like clockwork! And magic! I knew that, even without the pill, the “normal” cycle length was still 28-30 days. What I didn’t realize was just how much our daily lives can impact the cycle. Our diets, routines, sleeping habits, alcohol consumption, stress factors – everything. It makes me appreciate just how incredible the human body actually is. I mean, there are literally billions of people in the world and, for every single one of them, the stars had to align and everything had to go right.


Luffy has been incredibly kind and helpful during all of this. Figuring out my body has become a sort of hobby of mine and he’s been very patient as I chatter excitedly to him. Even though he’s ready and wants a baby just as much as me, he takes each negative in stride and reminds me to cherish our time together, while it’s just the two of us. Meanwhile, certain members of our household (coughJasminecough), have not been as supportive. To be fair though, the counter is her domain and she can toss off any item as she sees fit (at least, that’s what I tell myself as I’m retrieving my thermometer from the floor yet again).

