In Which I Give TMI…

So, a little background first… Luffy and I are both planners. We’re accountants, so that may be part of it, but we both like to have an idea of where we’re going, be it vacation plans or plans for our house. When we first decided to get married, Luffy’s plan was to be engaged for a year, married for a year, then babies (I thought he was adorable). Thus, on our one year anniversary, the birth control pills went down the toilet and we started actively trying to get pregnant.

You know what they say about best laid plans right? Yeah, that’s basically how it went for us. We’d heard that it could take up to 6-8 weeks for my period to return after birth control and that it typically took healthy couples three months to conceive. I tried not to get my hopes up, but I have to admit to looking up what our due date would be should we conceive the first month (July 6th, btw). And then we waited. And waited. And then waited some more. I was hopeful at first (I’m already pregnant!!!), but those hopes were dashed with multiple negative pregnancy tests.

My cycle finished out at 63 days. But! Now we could try again. I was convinced that my body would bounce back to regular 28 day cycles and ovulation! Like magic! I’d also decided to try using ovulation tests, just in case my cycle was weird again. Long story short, I ran out of tests before I ever received a positive and my period disappeared for another 65 days.

But then! New cycle. Fresh start. I decided to be more diligent with the ovulation tests this time and ordered in bulk. I began testing ridiculously early. Luffy suggested I wait for a more typical window when each negative result seemed to drop my spirits each morning. I told him that I’d rather see every negative test than wait until the end and not catch it. (The elusive ovulation – much like catching the golden Snitch!)

So! All caught up! Tl;dr: Weird cycles after birth control. Numerous ovulation tests wasted.Five months of waiting around.

I’m sure you can see where this is leading up to, but I’m going to tell you all about it anyway. Yesterday was day 38. Another regular day. I was still using the buy-in-bulk tests as I was planning to use my expensive tests during the typical window (another two weeks away). I got up to get ready to teach my exercise class and took the test out of habit. I checked the clock and came back when the test was ready. And stared. It looked positive. POSITIVE. Holy crap.

I called Luffy in for confirmation and immediately decided to test again that afternoon with the expensive tests. After all, the buy-in-bulk tests did have a couple of negative reviews online, perhaps it was a fluke. By that afternoon, I was convinced it was and that there was no way I would be able to duplicate the results. I used two tests, one cheapo and one expensive. They were both positive.

You guys!! I’m ovulating soon!! Finally!!

So sorry for the over-share, I’m just so freaking excited. I feel like it’s our first real chance to conceive. Keep your fingers crossed for us!

One thought on “In Which I Give TMI…

Comments are closed.